Big Game by StateThe public record of western draws

Montana · Deadlines

Montana application deadlines

Every date below was read off a Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks page or booklet on the verification date, and each row says which one. Where the department is vague, contradicts itself, or has not published a date at all, this page says so rather than filling the gap.

Last verified against Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks: 27 August 2026. Deadlines move. Confirm on the department's own page before you apply.

Read this before you read the table. As of 27 August 2026, the dates Montana FWP publishes are 2026 dates, and every one of them has passed. The department's application and drawing dates page stamps 2026 on every row, and all three 2026 regulation booklets state they were adopted on 4 December 2025 and are valid from 1 March 2026 through 28 February 2027. The department publishes no 2027 booklet and no 2027 date schedule — its regulations archive runs 2019 to 2025, and the current cycle is the newest thing on the site. Montana's licence year begins 1 March, so a 2027 schedule would be expected before then; the department has not published one, and this page will not invent it. The 2026 dates are reproduced below because they are what the department currently states, not because they apply to the next draw.

Big game application windows

The summary page and the year-stamped booklets carry these rows independently, and they agree on every application date.

Applications open at 5:00 a.m. on the opening date and close at 11:45 p.m. on the deadline date. The department writes those times as MST on its web page and as Montana local time in its booklets — see the time zone conflict below. Results columns reproduce FWP's own wording; the department gives no calendar date for any drawing.
ApplicationOpensClosesDrawing resultsLicence results and refunds
Nonresident combination licences
Big Game, Elk, Deer, Landowner-Sponsored Deer, Come Home to Hunt
Summary page · deer/elk booklet pp. 11 and 13 · nonresident fees page
Mar 1Apr 1Mid-AprilEarly May
Deer and elk permits
resident and nonresident
Summary page · deer/elk booklet pp. 11, 12–13 and 14
Mar 1Apr 1Mid-AprilEarly May
Deer B and Elk B licences
antlerless; resident and nonresident
Summary page · deer/elk booklet pp. 11, 12–13 and 14
Mar 1Jun 1Mid-JuneEnd of Aug.
Antelope and Antelope B
resident and nonresident
Summary page · deer/elk booklet pp. 11 and 12–13
Mar 1Jun 1Early Aug.Early Sep.
Antelope archery 900 and 399 series
first and only choice
Deer/elk booklet pp. 11 and 12–13
Mar 1Jun 1Mid-JuneEnd of Aug.
Moose, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, bison
resident and nonresident
Summary page · moose/sheep/goat/bison booklet pp. 8 and 9
Mar 1May 1Mid-Maynot stated
SuperTag chances
$5 each, unlimited; all eight species and mountain lion
Summary page · all three booklets
not statedJun 30see conflict belowNA

Applications, drawings and bonus points · 2026 deer, elk and antelope booklet · 2026 moose, sheep, goat and bison booklet.

Montana publishes no firm results date for any drawing

This is the single most important thing to understand about the Montana calendar, and it is the department's own position rather than our reading of it. Every drawing date FWP publishes is a window — Mid-April, Mid-June, Early Aug., Mid-May — on both the web page and inside the booklets. The moose, sheep, goat and bison booklet prints Dates are approximate directly above its own results table.

So there is no Montana equivalent of a results day. Anyone publishing one has either guessed from last year's actual posting date or made it up. We are not going to do either. FWP directs applicants to check results through their own account rather than announcing a date, and that is the honest answer to when are Montana draw results posted: the department does not say.

There is no modify or withdraw period

Several western states let you change or pull an application after submitting it. Montana does not. The deer, elk and antelope booklet and the moose, sheep, goat and bison booklet both state the rule in the same words, citing ARM 12.3.601: all licence purchases and applications are final and cannot be changed or withdrawn.

The practical consequence is that the application deadline is also the last moment any decision can be revised — species, district, party, and the bonus or preference point election all lock at submission, not at the deadline.

Where Montana FWP contradicts itself

Four places where two department sources disagree. Both readings are printed. We are not picking a winner in any of them.

  • Unlimited bighorn sheep — over the counter, or not
    The summary page says these licences “may be available from License Providers, including FWP Online Licensing System, or the hunter has the option of applying by the May 1 deadline through the drawing process.” The 2026 moose, sheep, goat and bison booklet and the regulations index both say the opposite, as a highlighted change: unlimited bighorn sheep licences “will no longer be available over the counter. All unlimited applications must be submitted by May 1.”
  • MST, or Montana local time
    The summary page labels every opening and closing time MST. The deer/elk booklet and the moose/sheep/goat/bison booklet both describe the same two times — approximately 5 a.m. to 11:45 p.m. — as “Montana local time,” and as the hours the online licensing system runs every day rather than as deadline-specific cut-offs. The 1 April, 1 May and 1 June deadlines all fall while Montana is on daylight time. FWP never reconciles the two labels.
  • When SuperTag results come out
    The deer, elk and antelope booklet says “After July 8.” The moose, sheep, goat and bison booklet and the summary page both say “Early July.” Same department, same cycle, two answers.
  • The nonresident hound deadline
    The summary page prints “Application Deadline: TBD” for the mountain lion hound licence. The 2026 mountain lion booklet gives it firmly: applications available from 1 July 2026, deadline 1 August 2026, drawing in the first week of August. The booklet date had already passed when this page was verified, and the web page still read TBD.

Mountain lion and hound licences

On the same department page, and worth separating out because two of the three rows are where its gaps show.

The mountain lion limited-licence row carries no year on either date. The department prints it alongside rows that are explicitly stamped 2026, and does not say whether it belongs to the same cycle.
ApplicationOpensClosesDrawing
Nonresident hound licence — black bear
Summary page
Mar 1, 2026Apr 1, 2026not stated
Nonresident hound licence — mountain lion
Mountain lion booklet p. 2 — the summary page says “TBD”
Jul 1, 2026Aug 1, 2026first week of August
Mountain lion — limited licence
Summary page — no year printed on either date
Jun 30Jul 22Mid-August

Applications, drawings and bonus points · 2026 mountain lion booklet.

Two point systems, two different windows

Montana runs bonus points and preference points side by side. They are not variations of one idea — they apply to different draws, cost different amounts, and close on different dates.

These are the only Montana dates still ahead of the verification date. The booklet describes both windows as running in the current year, and the current booklet is the 2026 one. Standalone bonus points close 30 September; a standalone preference point can be bought through 31 December. Every application deadline on this page has passed.

Bonus points — every drawn species, both residencies

Bonus points are squared before the draw and added to the current application, so three points give ten chances rather than four. The department's own worked example is ten points producing 101 chances. They apply to first-choice drawings only, and they are lost when you draw that first choice.

There are two ways to buy one, and they are mutually exclusive within a species. You may buy one at the time of application. If you apply and decline it then, the department states you may not buy that same one later in the year — the July to September window is only open for licence types you did not apply for. Standalone purchase runs 1 July to 30 September, in both the bonus points FAQ and the deer, elk and antelope booklet.

Bonus point prices. One point per species opportunity per year.
Bonus pointFee
With an application — resident, per licence or permit type$2
With an application — nonresident, per licence or permit type$20
Standalone, resident, per species$15
Standalone, nonresident, per species$25
Standalone, nonresident — moose, sheep, goat$75

Deer, elk and antelope booklet, p. 17 · bonus points FAQ.

Preference points — nonresident combination licences only

Preference points do not enter any other draw. Seventy-five per cent of nonresident combination licences go to applicants in order of points held; the remaining twenty-five per cent go by random draw among applicants holding none. The department says plainly that whether zero points beats holding points in a given year depends on how many people bought them, and tells applicants to read prior years' statistics rather than assume.

A point costs $100 and nobody may hold more than three. Applicants buy at the time of application; those not applying for a combination licence may buy one standalone between 1 July and 31 December. Accumulated points are lost on drawing a combination licence, or on failing to apply in consecutive years. Clients of a licensed Montana outfitter may buy a second $100 point at application, valid only for hunting with an outfitter.

Bonus and preference points page · deer, elk and antelope booklet, p. 17.

Landowner preference has its own deadlines

Montana sets aside up to fifteen per cent of final quotas for landowner preference in the deer permit, elk permit, Deer B, Elk B, antelope, Antelope B and nonresident Big Game and Elk combination drawings. Both resident and nonresident landowners can qualify.

The application itself follows the normal deadline, but a separate preference form has to be mailed in, and the department states the form must be received — not postmarked — by 1 April for deer and elk permits and for nonresident Big Game and Elk combination licences, and by 1 June for Elk B, Deer B, antelope and Antelope B. Acreage thresholds are 160 acres within the hunting district for deer, Deer B and antelope, and 640 contiguous acres used by elk, as documented by the department, for elk.

Deer, elk and antelope booklet, p. 17. The booklet's own reminders page, p. 5, gives the same two dates but omits the nonresident combination licences from the April 1 group.

After the drawing

Four deadline classes that sit after the draw rather than before it. Unlike the drawing dates, the department stamps each of these with a year.

  • Surplus list sign-up — 15 June to 15 July 2026
    Deer permits, elk permits, Deer B and Elk B licences left over after the draw. You sign up during the window, the list is randomised, and hunters are contacted by email with a purchase window the department describes as typically five days. The table is headed 2026 Surplus Schedule, and the department states the dates depend on when each drawing is held and are subject to change from year to year. Surplus licences page.
  • Successful moose, sheep and goat applicants must buy by 1 August
    Drawing a licence is not the same as holding one. Under ARM 12.3.621, a successful moose, bighorn sheep or mountain goat applicant must purchase on or before 1 August or the licence may be offered to the next applicant in the drawing sequence. Bison licences must be purchased before hunting. Moose, sheep, goat and bison booklet, p. 8.
  • Over-the-counter Deer B and Elk B sales begin 15 June
    A change the department highlights for 2026. These are separate from the drawn B licences and from the surplus list. Deer, elk and antelope booklet, pp. 7 and 12–13.
  • Refund requests — 1 December 2026
    The department's refund table gives 12/1/26 for all three of its listed reasons: death of the licensee at 100 per cent, death of an immediate family member at 90 per cent, and medical emergency at 90 per cent. Elk permits are listed as nonrefundable. Moose, sheep, goat and bison booklet, p. 12.

What it costs to apply

Licence prices as the department's fee pages give them. The application fee is charged on top and is not refundable.

Add a non-refundable application fee of $5 to each application, except moose, bighorn sheep, mountain goat and bison, where it is $10 for residents and $50 for nonresidents. Prerequisites are separate and are not in this table: a base hunting licence at $10 resident and $50 nonresident, a conservation licence, and the aquatic invasive species prevention pass.
Licence or permitPrice
Nonresident Big Game Combination — deer and elk$1,312
Nonresident Elk Combination$1,112
Nonresident Deer Combination$760
Nonresident Landowner-Sponsored Deer Combination$760
Nonresident moose, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, bison$1,250
Nonresident antelope, or Antelope B$200
Nonresident Deer B$75
Nonresident Elk B$270
Resident moose, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, bison$125
Resident antelope, or Antelope B$14
Resident Deer B$10
Resident Elk B$20
Deer permit — resident and nonresident alike$5
Elk permit — resident and nonresident alike$9

Nonresident fees · resident fees · cross-checked against the availability charts in the deer, elk and antelope booklet, pp. 12–13, and the moose, sheep, goat and bison booklet, p. 8.

One inconsistency to be aware of when comparing the two. The booklets' availability charts fold the $5 drawing fee into some prices and not others: Deer B appears as $80 against the fee page's $75, Elk B as $275 against $270, and antelope as $205 against $200, each labelled as including the drawing fee — while the combination licences print at $1,312, $1,112 and $760 in both places, with the $5 stated separately. The prices above are the fee pages' figures throughout.

What Montana FWP does not state

Named here rather than filled in. Every item below is a gap in the department's own publications as of 27 August 2026, not a gap in our reading of them.

  • Any 2027 date. No 2027 booklet, no 2027 application schedule, no 2027 drawing dates. The regulations archive stops at 2025 and the live pages describe 2026.
  • A calendar date for any drawing. Every results date is a window, and the moose, sheep, goat and bison booklet labels its own table approximate. There is no Montana results day to publish.
  • Which time standard governs a deadline. MST on the web page, Montana local time in the booklets, on deadlines that fall during daylight time.
  • When the mountain lion limited-licence dates apply. The 30 June opening and 22 July deadline carry no year, on a page where every other row does.
  • When its own pages were last updated. The department publishes no revision date on the application and drawing dates page, and that page is not in the fwp.mt.gov sitemap, so there is no modification stamp to read either.
  • Which of its two conflicting sources supersedes the other. On the unlimited bighorn sheep question, the SuperTag results wording, and the nonresident hound deadline, the department does not acknowledge the discrepancy anywhere.

Every source read for this page

Montana draw odds on this site

Not yet. Montana publishes real point-level detail — the department describes three separate report types, including a bonus-point breakdown by residency and a preference-point breakdown for the nonresident combination draw — which is why Montana belongs in our odds coverage rather than in the deadline-only tier. It is queued, not excluded, and it will appear here only once the numbers have been checked against those reports.

Until then, the department's own drawing statistics are the source, and this page will not estimate anything from them.

Deadlines are re-checked against the department's pages each cycle and never carried forward.