Big Game by StateThe public record of western draws

Montana · Elk · District 270

Montana elk b licence 270-01

How many people put this elk b licencefirst and how many of them drew it — year by year, separately for each of the four pools Montana draws, and separately at every bonus point level. Every figure comes from a Fish, Wildlife & Parks report linked at the foot of this page.

What the 2026 drawing did

Montana set a quota of 300 on 270-01 in 2026 and drew 300 — the quota filled. Across the four pools FWP draws separately, no nonresident landowner applicant put it first; no resident landowner applicant put it first; 55 nonresident applicants put it first and 16 drew, 29.09%; 622 resident applicants put it first and 284 drew, 45.66%.

Published in 11 of the drawing years FWP has posted, 2014 to 2026.

Drawing pool

First-choice success rate, by pool and year

The rate is the first-choice applicants in a pool who drew, divided by the first-choice applicants in that pool. Both are exact integers FWP printed in the same row, and it is the measure the department's own drawing statistics tool publishes: "the percentage of 1st choice applicants that were successful". A dash means nobody in that pool applied, so the draw answered nothing — absent, not nought.
YearPoolPool capPut it firstDrew on first choiceFirst-choice success ratePut it 2nd or 3rdDrew on 2nd or 3rd
2026Nonresident30551629.09%750
2026Resident30062228445.66%7880
2026Nonresident landowner3000———
2026Resident landowner4500———
2025Nonresident30713042.25%690
2025Resident30059627045.30%7580
2025Nonresident landowner3000———
2025Resident landowner4500———
2024Nonresident30872731.03%550
2024Resident30064927241.91%6280
2024Nonresident landowner3000———
2024Resident landowner4511100.00%——
2023Nonresident20681826.47%470
2023Resident20057918231.43%5740
2023Nonresident landowner2000———
2023Resident landowner3000———
2022Nonresident20481531.25%440
2022Resident20046318539.96%4530
2022Nonresident landowner2000———
2022Resident landowner3000———
2021Nonresident1064710.94%370
2021Resident1005569316.73%5200
2021Nonresident landowner1000———
2021Resident landowner1500———
2020Nonresident104836.25%270
2020Resident1005129718.95%3950
2020Nonresident landowner1000———
2020Resident landowner1500———
2019Nonresident1023313.04%160
2019Resident1003869725.13%2410
2019Nonresident landowner1000———
2019Resident landowner1500———
2018Nonresident1021628.57%230
2018Resident1003979423.68%2710
2018Nonresident landowner1000———
2018Resident landowner1500———
2015Nonresident1200—00
2015Resident1253535100.00%1010
2015Nonresident landowner1200———
2015Resident landowner1900———
2014Nonresident1000—00
2014Resident1004343100.00%55
2014Nonresident landowner1000———
2014Resident landowner1500———

Pool cap is FWP's own QTA column, and it is a ceiling rather than an allocation. The resident regular cap equals the overall quota; the nonresident caps are ten per cent of it and cover landowner and regular nonresidents together; the resident landowner cap is fifteen per cent. The department states plainly that the ceiling is not a floor: "although the nonresident quotas are set at 10%, that entire quota may not be drawn by nonresidents", and that if every resident applicant draws, nonresidents may go over ten per cent.

Landowner rows are a different drawing, not a subset of the one below them.Landowner preference is the first stage, worth up to fifteen per cent of the quota to resident landowners, and its applicants are counted apart from the regular pool throughout. FWP publishes the landowner pools at first choice only, which is why their second and third columns are dashes rather than noughts.

Draw rate at each bonus point level

One row per bonus point level per pool per year, exactly as FWP's Detailed Bonus Point report publishes it. The rate is that level's successes divided by its applications — both exact integers in the same printed row.
YearPoolBonus pointsAppliedDrewDrew at this level
2026Nonresident020315.00%
2026Nonresident125416.00%
2026Nonresident25480.00%
2026Nonresident333100.00%
2026Nonresident422100.00%
2026Resident02214219.00%
2026Resident12229341.89%
2026Resident21169279.31%
2026Resident3433888.37%
2026Resident4191894.74%
2026Resident511100.00%
2025Nonresident018527.78%
2025Nonresident1411536.59%
2025Nonresident28675.00%
2025Nonresident333100.00%
2025Nonresident411100.00%
2025Resident02064622.33%
2025Resident12108942.38%
2025Resident21218469.42%
2025Resident3443681.82%
2025Resident499100.00%
2025Resident555100.00%
2025Resident611100.00%
2024Nonresident029310.34%
2024Nonresident1461634.78%
2024Nonresident26466.67%
2024Nonresident36466.67%
2024Resident02284017.54%
2024Resident12188237.61%
2024Resident21469766.44%
2024Resident3312787.10%
2024Resident41717100.00%
2024Resident588100.00%
2024Resident611100.00%
2024Resident landowner111100.00%
2023Nonresident126830.77%
2023Nonresident211763.64%
2023Nonresident311100.00%
2023Nonresidentnot stated3026.67%
2023Resident12285925.88%
2023Resident2895662.92%
2023Resident3383078.95%
2023Resident410770.00%
2023Resident544100.00%
2023Resident611100.00%
2023Residentnot stated2092511.96%
2022Nonresident1241250.00%
2022Nonresident411100.00%
2022Nonresidentnot stated2328.70%
2022Resident11444631.94%
2022Resident2865159.30%
2022Resident3483879.17%
2022Resident42222100.00%
2022Resident511100.00%
2022Residentnot stated1622716.67%
2021Nonresident02613.85%
2021Nonresident14125.00%
2021Nonresident22150.00%
2021Nonresident32150.00%
2021Nonresidentnot stated30310.00%
2021Resident01491912.75%
2021Resident11022019.61%
2021Resident2501836.00%
2021Resident310550.00%
2021Resident46583.33%
2021Resident511100.00%
2021Resident811100.00%
2021Residentnot stated2372410.13%
2020Nonresident02627.69%
2020Nonresident1300.00%
2020Nonresident2200.00%
2020Nonresidentnot stated1715.88%
2020Resident02072813.53%
2020Resident1691318.84%
2020Resident2301963.33%
2020Resident3111090.91%
2020Resident44375.00%
2020Residentnot stated1912412.57%
2019Nonresident014214.29%
2019Nonresident1100.00%
2019Nonresidentnot stated8112.50%
2019Resident01472617.69%
2019Resident1813239.51%
2019Resident2271451.85%
2019Resident38562.50%
2019Resident422100.00%
2019Residentnot stated1211814.88%
2018Nonresident015426.67%
2018Nonresident1100.00%
2018Nonresidentnot stated5240.00%
2018Resident01833016.39%
2018Resident1611829.51%
2018Resident2181055.56%
2018Resident37685.71%
2018Resident411100.00%
2018Resident511100.00%
2018Residentnot stated1262822.22%
2015Resident01717100.00%
2015Resident122100.00%
2015Residentnot stated1616100.00%
2014Resident02121100.00%
2014Resident133100.00%
2014Resident222100.00%
2014Residentnot stated1717100.00%

No bonus point level guarantees a licence in Montana, and this page does not publish one. FWP squares your bonus points and adds them to your current application as extra chances — three points give ten chances, ten points give a hundred and one — so the drawing is a weighted lottery and not a queue. More points is better odds every time, and a place in line never.

Not stated is FWP's own blank cell, and it is not the same as nought. The department's reports frequently carry both a nought-point row and a blank one for the same pool in the same year, with different application counts, and both are inside the district total it prints. FWP does not say what separates them, so they are shown apart rather than added together into a "no points" figure it never published.

Sources for this licence

Other licences in these districts

Bonus points are one of Montana's two point systems and the only one that applies here. The other, preference points, exists on nonresident combination licences alone and works in the opposite way. See how these numbers are produced and checked, or the Montana application deadlines.