Big Game by StateThe public record of western draws

Montana · Elk · District 341

Montana elk b licence 341-00

How many people put this elk b licencefirst and how many of them drew it — year by year, separately for each of the four pools Montana draws, and separately at every bonus point level. Every figure comes from a Fish, Wildlife & Parks report linked at the foot of this page.

What the 2022 drawing did

Montana set a quota of 0 on 341-00 in 2022 and drew 0 — the quota filled. Across the four pools FWP draws separately, no nonresident landowner applicant put it first; no resident landowner applicant put it first; no nonresident applicant put it first; 1 resident applicant put it first and none of them drew.

This licence code stops appearing after 2022. FWP's 2026 reports do not carry it, and this site does not map a retired code onto a current one — the department renumbered its licence-type suffixes and has published nothing saying which old code became which new one. What is below is the record of the 9 years it was drawn.

Drawing pool

First-choice success rate, by pool and year

The rate is the first-choice applicants in a pool who drew, divided by the first-choice applicants in that pool. Both are exact integers FWP printed in the same row, and it is the measure the department's own drawing statistics tool publishes: "the percentage of 1st choice applicants that were successful". A dash means nobody in that pool applied, so the draw answered nothing — absent, not nought.
YearPoolPool capPut it firstDrew on first choiceFirst-choice success ratePut it 2nd or 3rdDrew on 2nd or 3rd
2022Nonresident000—00
2022Resident0100.00%20
2022Nonresident landowner000———
2022Resident landowner000———
2021Nonresident1728828.57%140
2021Resident17543616337.39%2560
2021Nonresident landowner1711100.00%——
2021Resident landowner2733100.00%——
2020Nonresident1714750.00%20
2020Resident17540416440.59%2080
2020Nonresident landowner1711100.00%——
2020Resident landowner2733100.00%——
2019Nonresident173133.33%70
2019Resident17529217359.25%1650
2019Nonresident landowner1711100.00%——
2019Resident landowner2700———
2018Nonresident177685.71%70
2018Resident17531616752.85%1850
2018Nonresident landowner1700———
2018Resident landowner2722100.00%——
2017Nonresident102150.00%20
2017Resident1002289742.54%1900
2017Nonresident landowner1000———
2017Resident landowner1522100.00%——
2016Nonresident5800.00%60
2016Resident502704817.78%2410
2016Nonresident landowner500———
2016Resident landowner822100.00%——
2015Nonresident500—10
2015Resident501224940.16%1340
2015Nonresident landowner500———
2015Resident landowner811100.00%——
2014Nonresident1100.00%10
2014Resident1010598.57%1470
2014Nonresident landowner100———
2014Resident landowner111100.00%——

Pool cap is FWP's own QTA column, and it is a ceiling rather than an allocation. The resident regular cap equals the overall quota; the nonresident caps are ten per cent of it and cover landowner and regular nonresidents together; the resident landowner cap is fifteen per cent. The department states plainly that the ceiling is not a floor: "although the nonresident quotas are set at 10%, that entire quota may not be drawn by nonresidents", and that if every resident applicant draws, nonresidents may go over ten per cent.

Landowner rows are a different drawing, not a subset of the one below them.Landowner preference is the first stage, worth up to fifteen per cent of the quota to resident landowners, and its applicants are counted apart from the regular pool throughout. FWP publishes the landowner pools at first choice only, which is why their second and third columns are dashes rather than noughts.

Draw rate at each bonus point level

One row per bonus point level per pool per year, exactly as FWP's Detailed Bonus Point report publishes it. The rate is that level's successes divided by its applications — both exact integers in the same printed row.
YearPoolBonus pointsAppliedDrewDrew at this level
2022Residentnot stated100.00%
2021Nonresident018316.67%
2021Nonresident1100.00%
2021Nonresident211100.00%
2021Nonresidentnot stated8450.00%
2021Resident01856032.43%
2021Resident1864653.49%
2021Resident2312374.19%
2021Resident322100.00%
2021Resident511100.00%
2021Residentnot stated1313123.66%
2021Nonresident landownernot stated11100.00%
2021Resident landowner011100.00%
2021Resident landownernot stated22100.00%
2020Nonresident06350.00%
2020Nonresident12150.00%
2020Nonresident211100.00%
2020Nonresidentnot stated5240.00%
2020Resident01705834.12%
2020Resident1804556.25%
2020Resident2221881.82%
2020Resident366100.00%
2020Resident411100.00%
2020Residentnot stated1253628.80%
2020Nonresident landownernot stated11100.00%
2020Resident landowner011100.00%
2020Resident landownernot stated22100.00%
2019Nonresident0200.00%
2019Nonresidentnot stated11100.00%
2019Resident01236452.03%
2019Resident1544277.78%
2019Resident21616100.00%
2019Resident366100.00%
2019Resident411100.00%
2019Residentnot stated924447.83%
2019Nonresident landownernot stated11100.00%
2018Nonresident211100.00%
2018Nonresidentnot stated6583.33%
2018Resident01154942.61%
2018Resident1503366.00%
2018Resident2272592.59%
2018Resident344100.00%
2018Resident444100.00%
2018Residentnot stated1165244.83%
2018Resident landownernot stated22100.00%
2017Nonresidentnot stated2150.00%
2017Resident0682333.82%
2017Resident1573052.63%
2017Resident212975.00%
2017Resident3171164.71%
2017Resident433100.00%
2017Residentnot stated712129.58%
2017Resident landownernot stated22100.00%
2016Nonresident0600.00%
2016Nonresident1100.00%
2016Nonresident2100.00%
2016Resident0971313.40%
2016Resident135514.29%
2016Resident2281035.71%
2016Resident37457.14%
2016Resident411100.00%
2016Resident611100.00%
2016Residentnot stated1011413.86%
2016Resident landowner011100.00%
2016Resident landownernot stated11100.00%
2015Resident0421535.71%
2015Resident1281450.00%
2015Resident2200.00%
2015Resident34375.00%
2015Residentnot stated461736.96%
2015Resident landownernot stated11100.00%
2014Nonresident1100.00%
2014Resident03837.89%
2014Resident11100.00%
2014Resident28225.00%
2014Resident311100.00%
2014Resident411100.00%
2014Residentnot stated4624.35%
2014Resident landownernot stated11100.00%

No bonus point level guarantees a licence in Montana, and this page does not publish one. FWP squares your bonus points and adds them to your current application as extra chances — three points give ten chances, ten points give a hundred and one — so the drawing is a weighted lottery and not a queue. More points is better odds every time, and a place in line never.

Not stated is FWP's own blank cell, and it is not the same as nought. The department's reports frequently carry both a nought-point row and a blank one for the same pool in the same year, with different application counts, and both are inside the district total it prints. FWP does not say what separates them, so they are shown apart rather than added together into a "no points" figure it never published.

Sources for this licence

Other licences in these districts

Bonus points are one of Montana's two point systems and the only one that applies here. The other, preference points, exists on nonresident combination licences alone and works in the opposite way. See how these numbers are produced and checked, or the Montana application deadlines.