Big Game by StateThe public record of western draws

Montana · Elk · District 212

Montana elk permit 212-00

How many people put this elk permitfirst and how many of them drew it — year by year, separately for each of the four pools Montana draws, and separately at every bonus point level. Every figure comes from a Fish, Wildlife & Parks report linked at the foot of this page.

What the 2021 drawing did

Montana set a quota of 30 on 212-00 in 2021 and drew 30 — the quota filled. Across the four pools FWP draws separately, no nonresident landowner applicant put it first; no resident landowner applicant put it first; 1 nonresident applicant put it first and none of them drew; 47 resident applicants put it first and 30 drew, 63.83%.

This licence code stops appearing after 2021. FWP's 2026 reports do not carry it, and this site does not map a retired code onto a current one — the department renumbered its licence-type suffixes and has published nothing saying which old code became which new one. What is below is the record of the 10 years it was drawn.

Drawing pool

First-choice success rate, by pool and year

The rate is the first-choice applicants in a pool who drew, divided by the first-choice applicants in that pool. Both are exact integers FWP printed in the same row, and it is the measure the department's own drawing statistics tool publishes: "the percentage of 1st choice applicants that were successful". A dash means nobody in that pool applied, so the draw answered nothing — absent, not nought.
YearPoolPool capPut it firstDrew on first choiceFirst-choice success ratePut it 2nd or 3rdDrew on 2nd or 3rd
2021Nonresident3100.00%50
2021Resident30473063.83%300
2021Nonresident landowner300———
2021Resident landowner500———
2020Nonresident34375.00%40
2020Resident30382771.05%330
2020Nonresident landowner300———
2020Resident landowner500———
2019Nonresident2088100.00%55
2019Resident2007171100.00%5454
2019Nonresident landowner2000———
2019Resident landowner3011100.00%——
2018Nonresident2066100.00%66
2018Resident200106106100.00%8680
2018Nonresident landowner2000———
2018Resident landowner3022100.00%——
2017Nonresident2055100.00%1211
2017Resident2008989100.00%11194
2017Nonresident landowner2000———
2017Resident landowner3011100.00%——
2016Nonresident201414100.00%136
2016Resident200106106100.00%8273
2016Nonresident landowner2000———
2016Resident landowner3011100.00%——
2009Nonresident401818100.00%10
2009Resident400353353100.00%10527
2009Nonresident landowner4000———
2009Resident landowner6022100.00%——
2008Nonresident40161593.75%30
2008Resident40040338294.79%1900
2008Nonresident landowner4000———
2008Resident landowner6033100.00%——
2007Nonresident2055100.00%10
2007Resident20020619594.66%1350
2007Nonresident landowner2000———
2007Resident landowner3000———
2006Nonresident2088100.00%90
2006Resident20020619293.20%1200
2006Nonresident landowner2000———
2006Resident landowner3000———

Pool cap is FWP's own QTA column, and it is a ceiling rather than an allocation. The resident regular cap equals the overall quota; the nonresident caps are ten per cent of it and cover landowner and regular nonresidents together; the resident landowner cap is fifteen per cent. The department states plainly that the ceiling is not a floor: "although the nonresident quotas are set at 10%, that entire quota may not be drawn by nonresidents", and that if every resident applicant draws, nonresidents may go over ten per cent.

Landowner rows are a different drawing, not a subset of the one below them.Landowner preference is the first stage, worth up to fifteen per cent of the quota to resident landowners, and its applicants are counted apart from the regular pool throughout. FWP publishes the landowner pools at first choice only, which is why their second and third columns are dashes rather than noughts.

Draw rate at each bonus point level

One row per bonus point level per pool per year, exactly as FWP's Detailed Bonus Point report publishes it. The rate is that level's successes divided by its applications — both exact integers in the same printed row.
YearPoolBonus pointsAppliedDrewDrew at this level
2021Nonresident0100.00%
2021Resident011654.55%
2021Resident133100.00%
2021Resident222100.00%
2021Residentnot stated311961.29%
2020Nonresident011100.00%
2020Nonresidentnot stated3266.67%
2020Resident06350.00%
2020Resident166100.00%
2020Residentnot stated261869.23%
2019Nonresident033100.00%
2019Nonresidentnot stated55100.00%
2019Resident02222100.00%
2019Resident133100.00%
2019Resident211100.00%
2019Resident411100.00%
2019Residentnot stated4444100.00%
2019Resident landownernot stated11100.00%
2018Nonresident011100.00%
2018Nonresident122100.00%
2018Nonresidentnot stated33100.00%
2018Resident03131100.00%
2018Resident188100.00%
2018Resident211100.00%
2018Resident311100.00%
2018Resident711100.00%
2018Residentnot stated6464100.00%
2018Resident landownernot stated22100.00%
2017Nonresidentnot stated55100.00%
2017Resident03131100.00%
2017Resident111100.00%
2017Resident211100.00%
2017Residentnot stated5656100.00%
2017Resident landownernot stated11100.00%
2016Nonresident044100.00%
2016Nonresidentnot stated1010100.00%
2016Resident02626100.00%
2016Resident155100.00%
2016Resident233100.00%
2016Resident311100.00%
2016Residentnot stated7171100.00%
2016Resident landownernot stated11100.00%
2009Nonresident066100.00%
2009Nonresident111100.00%
2009Nonresidentnot stated1111100.00%
2009Resident0108108100.00%
2009Resident11414100.00%
2009Resident255100.00%
2009Resident322100.00%
2009Resident511100.00%
2009Residentnot stated223223100.00%
2009Resident landowner011100.00%
2009Resident landownernot stated11100.00%
2008Nonresident033100.00%
2008Nonresidentnot stated131292.31%
2008Resident012511592.00%
2008Resident11616100.00%
2008Resident277100.00%
2008Resident344100.00%
2008Resident411100.00%
2008Resident511100.00%
2008Residentnot stated24923895.58%
2008Resident landownernot stated33100.00%
2007Nonresident011100.00%
2007Nonresident211100.00%
2007Nonresidentnot stated33100.00%
2007Resident0343294.12%
2007Resident166100.00%
2007Resident211100.00%
2007Resident322100.00%
2007Residentnot stated16315494.48%
2006Nonresident022100.00%
2006Nonresidentnot stated66100.00%
2006Resident0413995.12%
2006Resident144100.00%
2006Resident233100.00%
2006Resident311100.00%
2006Residentnot stated15714592.36%

No bonus point level guarantees a licence in Montana, and this page does not publish one. FWP squares your bonus points and adds them to your current application as extra chances — three points give ten chances, ten points give a hundred and one — so the drawing is a weighted lottery and not a queue. More points is better odds every time, and a place in line never.

Not stated is FWP's own blank cell, and it is not the same as nought. The department's reports frequently carry both a nought-point row and a blank one for the same pool in the same year, with different application counts, and both are inside the district total it prints. FWP does not say what separates them, so they are shown apart rather than added together into a "no points" figure it never published.

Sources for this licence

Other licences in these districts

Bonus points are one of Montana's two point systems and the only one that applies here. The other, preference points, exists on nonresident combination licences alone and works in the opposite way. See how these numbers are produced and checked, or the Montana application deadlines.