Big Game by StateThe public record of western draws

Montana · Bighorn Sheep · District 300

Montana bighorn sheep licence 300-60

How many people put this bighorn sheep licencefirst and how many of them drew it — year by year, separately for each of the four pools Montana draws, and separately at every bonus point level. Every figure comes from a Fish, Wildlife & Parks report linked at the foot of this page.

What the 2026 drawing did

FWP drew 300-60 without a limit in 2026 and issued 128 licences. Across the four pools FWP draws separately, no nonresident landowner applicant put it first; no resident landowner applicant put it first; 27 nonresident applicants put it first and 27 drew, 100.00%; 101 resident applicants put it first and 101 drew, 100.00%.

Published in 13 of the drawing years FWP has posted, 2014 to 2026.

Drawing pool

First-choice success rate, by pool and year

The rate is the first-choice applicants in a pool who drew, divided by the first-choice applicants in that pool. Both are exact integers FWP printed in the same row, and it is the measure the department's own drawing statistics tool publishes: "the percentage of 1st choice applicants that were successful". A dash means nobody in that pool applied, so the draw answered nothing — absent, not nought.
YearPoolPool capPut it firstDrew on first choiceFirst-choice success ratePut it 2nd or 3rdDrew on 2nd or 3rd
2026Nonresidentno limit2727100.00%00
2026Residentno limit101101100.00%00
2026Nonresident landowner000———
2026Resident landowner000———
2025Nonresidentno limit3939100.00%00
2025Residentno limit6666100.00%00
2025Nonresident landowner000———
2025Resident landowner000———
2024Nonresidentno limit4040100.00%00
2024Residentno limit7878100.00%00
2024Nonresident landowner000———
2024Resident landowner000———
2023Nonresidentno limit1919100.00%00
2023Residentno limit9191100.00%00
2023Nonresident landowner000———
2023Resident landowner000———
2022Nonresidentno limit2626100.00%00
2022Residentno limit8282100.00%00
2022Nonresident landowner000———
2022Resident landowner000———
2021Nonresidentno limit2626100.00%00
2021Residentno limit6262100.00%00
2021Nonresident landowner000———
2021Resident landowner000———
2020Nonresidentno limit1212100.00%00
2020Residentno limit5050100.00%00
2020Nonresident landowner000———
2020Resident landowner000———
2019Nonresidentno limit1515100.00%00
2019Residentno limit5050100.00%00
2019Nonresident landowner000———
2019Resident landowner000———
2018Nonresidentno limit1212100.00%00
2018Residentno limit5353100.00%00
2018Nonresident landowner000———
2018Resident landowner000———
2017Nonresidentno limit1515100.00%00
2017Residentno limit6262100.00%00
2017Nonresident landowner000———
2017Resident landowner000———
2016Nonresidentno limit1010100.00%00
2016Residentno limit4646100.00%00
2016Nonresident landowner000———
2016Resident landowner000———
2015Nonresidentno limit1212100.00%00
2015Residentno limit4343100.00%00
2015Nonresident landowner000———
2015Resident landowner000———
2014Nonresidentno limit1515100.00%00
2014Residentno limit4949100.00%00
2014Nonresident landowner000———
2014Resident landowner000———

Pool cap is FWP's own QTA column, and it is a ceiling rather than an allocation. The resident regular cap equals the overall quota; the nonresident caps are ten per cent of it and cover landowner and regular nonresidents together; the resident landowner cap is fifteen per cent. The department states plainly that the ceiling is not a floor: "although the nonresident quotas are set at 10%, that entire quota may not be drawn by nonresidents", and that if every resident applicant draws, nonresidents may go over ten per cent.

Landowner rows are a different drawing, not a subset of the one below them.Landowner preference is the first stage, worth up to fifteen per cent of the quota to resident landowners, and its applicants are counted apart from the regular pool throughout. FWP publishes the landowner pools at first choice only, which is why their second and third columns are dashes rather than noughts.

Draw rate at each bonus point level

One row per bonus point level per pool per year, exactly as FWP's Detailed Bonus Point report publishes it. The rate is that level's successes divided by its applications — both exact integers in the same printed row.
YearPoolBonus pointsAppliedDrewDrew at this level
2026Nonresident02727100.00%
2026Resident0101101100.00%
2025Nonresident01111100.00%
2025Nonresident12020100.00%
2025Nonresident233100.00%
2025Nonresident311100.00%
2025Nonresident411100.00%
2025Nonresident511100.00%
2025Nonresident611100.00%
2025Nonresident1011100.00%
2025Resident01919100.00%
2025Resident12727100.00%
2025Resident21010100.00%
2025Resident344100.00%
2025Resident422100.00%
2025Resident1022100.00%
2025Resident1122100.00%
2024Nonresident01010100.00%
2024Nonresident11616100.00%
2024Nonresident288100.00%
2024Nonresident333100.00%
2024Nonresident411100.00%
2024Nonresident522100.00%
2024Resident02929100.00%
2024Resident13333100.00%
2024Resident288100.00%
2024Resident322100.00%
2024Resident422100.00%
2024Resident533100.00%
2024Resident711100.00%
2023Nonresident177100.00%
2023Nonresident233100.00%
2023Nonresident322100.00%
2023Nonresident511100.00%
2023Nonresident1011100.00%
2023Nonresidentnot stated55100.00%
2023Resident12626100.00%
2023Resident299100.00%
2023Resident388100.00%
2023Resident422100.00%
2023Resident544100.00%
2023Resident622100.00%
2023Resident722100.00%
2023Resident811100.00%
2023Resident1011100.00%
2023Resident1222100.00%
2023Resident1311100.00%
2023Residentnot stated3333100.00%
2022Nonresident01313100.00%
2022Nonresident144100.00%
2022Nonresident211100.00%
2022Nonresident333100.00%
2022Nonresident711100.00%
2022Nonresident1311100.00%
2022Nonresidentnot stated33100.00%
2022Resident02626100.00%
2022Resident11212100.00%
2022Resident244100.00%
2022Resident333100.00%
2022Resident422100.00%
2022Resident611100.00%
2022Resident811100.00%
2022Resident1011100.00%
2022Resident1111100.00%
2022Resident1711100.00%
2022Residentnot stated3030100.00%
2021Nonresident01515100.00%
2021Nonresident155100.00%
2021Nonresident311100.00%
2021Nonresident511100.00%
2021Nonresident1411100.00%
2021Nonresidentnot stated33100.00%
2021Resident02424100.00%
2021Resident11111100.00%
2021Resident233100.00%
2021Resident322100.00%
2021Resident411100.00%
2021Resident533100.00%
2021Resident1011100.00%
2021Residentnot stated1717100.00%
2020Nonresident077100.00%
2020Nonresident122100.00%
2020Nonresident511100.00%
2020Nonresidentnot stated22100.00%
2020Resident01515100.00%
2020Resident177100.00%
2020Resident222100.00%
2020Resident333100.00%
2020Resident622100.00%
2020Resident711100.00%
2020Residentnot stated2020100.00%
2019Nonresident055100.00%
2019Nonresident111100.00%
2019Nonresident211100.00%
2019Nonresident311100.00%
2019Nonresident611100.00%
2019Nonresidentnot stated66100.00%
2019Resident01818100.00%
2019Resident11010100.00%
2019Resident311100.00%
2019Residentnot stated2121100.00%
2018Nonresident055100.00%
2018Nonresident233100.00%
2018Nonresident911100.00%
2018Nonresidentnot stated33100.00%
2018Resident01616100.00%
2018Resident177100.00%
2018Resident333100.00%
2018Resident422100.00%
2018Resident811100.00%
2018Resident1111100.00%
2018Resident1511100.00%
2018Residentnot stated2222100.00%
2017Nonresident01010100.00%
2017Nonresident111100.00%
2017Nonresident211100.00%
2017Nonresidentnot stated33100.00%
2017Resident01818100.00%
2017Resident199100.00%
2017Resident222100.00%
2017Resident322100.00%
2017Resident511100.00%
2017Resident611100.00%
2017Resident811100.00%
2017Residentnot stated2828100.00%
2016Nonresident033100.00%
2016Nonresident611100.00%
2016Nonresidentnot stated66100.00%
2016Resident02222100.00%
2016Resident111100.00%
2016Resident222100.00%
2016Resident411100.00%
2016Resident611100.00%
2016Resident711100.00%
2016Residentnot stated1818100.00%
2015Nonresident044100.00%
2015Nonresident211100.00%
2015Nonresidentnot stated77100.00%
2015Resident01818100.00%
2015Resident122100.00%
2015Resident233100.00%
2015Resident311100.00%
2015Resident511100.00%
2015Resident711100.00%
2015Resident1311100.00%
2015Residentnot stated1616100.00%
2014Nonresident055100.00%
2014Nonresident222100.00%
2014Nonresident511100.00%
2014Nonresidentnot stated77100.00%
2014Resident01414100.00%
2014Resident111100.00%
2014Resident222100.00%
2014Resident411100.00%
2014Resident522100.00%
2014Resident611100.00%
2014Residentnot stated2828100.00%

No bonus point level guarantees a licence in Montana, and this page does not publish one. FWP squares your bonus points and adds them to your current application as extra chances — three points give ten chances, ten points give a hundred and one — so the drawing is a weighted lottery and not a queue. More points is better odds every time, and a place in line never.

Not stated is FWP's own blank cell, and it is not the same as nought. The department's reports frequently carry both a nought-point row and a blank one for the same pool in the same year, with different application counts, and both are inside the district total it prints. FWP does not say what separates them, so they are shown apart rather than added together into a "no points" figure it never published.

No limit is a district FWP drew without a quota. Its reports print a sentinel in the quota column for these and footnote their own totals to exclude them, so no quota is shown rather than the sentinel's digits.

Sources for this licence

Other licences in these districts

Bonus points are one of Montana's two point systems and the only one that applies here. The other, preference points, exists on nonresident combination licences alone and works in the opposite way. See how these numbers are produced and checked, or the Montana application deadlines.